With industry input, the TIA/EIA cable standards havebeen developed by the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) and
Electronic Industries Alliance (EIA). TIA/EIA-568 establishes widely
employed telecommunications cable standards that support interoperability.
The 568B standard sets minimum requirements for various categories of
cabling, such as Cat5e with performance up to 100 MHz and the capabilities
for 10BASE-T, Fast Ethernet, and Gigabit Ethernet. The TIA/EIA requirements
for Category 5e cable are higher than those of basic Cat5. Catgory 6 and 6a
cables deliver performance up to 250 MHz with compatibility for 10BASE-T,
Fast Ethernet, Gigabit Ethernet and 10-Gigabit Ethernet. Category 6a cable
specifications address alien crosstalk issues.

Standards for Cat5e Cable

Part of the 568 standards for Cat5e cable and other
twisted pair cabling is the 568A and 568B wiring schemes which specify pin
and pair assignments. The schemes define the process of UTP cable terminations. Each wiring pair
corresponds to an assigned color during terminations, as in pair 3 to the
green on a patch panel or jack.
Cat5e cable is connected using the 8P8C modular connectors with terminations
in a T568A or T568B scheme.

TIA and EIA standards for Category 6 and 6a

TIA/EIA-568-B defines cable and connectors to be used in networks. The
TIA and EIA standards for Category 6a cables support
10GBase-T networks. Like Cat5e, the Cat6 cables are usually terminated in
8P8C connectors. However, the wiring must be supported by patch cables,
jacks and connectors that are also rated for the Category 6 TIA/EIA
performance. At Comms Express, components are available which are compatible
with the larger 6a cables.

Related Links

Network Cable
Patch Panels

Share this Comms InfoZone Article